Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Brewmaster Mike
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    56

    Question Speedometer Calibration?

    Is there any way to calibrate or adjust the speedometer reading on the 2011 FZS? Says I'm doing 95 when I know it would be a stretch to be pushing 70.


  2. #2
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by mmayer View Post
    Is there any way to calibrate or adjust the speedometer reading on the 2011 FZS? Says I'm doing 95 when I know it would be a stretch to be pushing 70.
    That's why we all carry a gps when we do speed runs, Because all they are is a dream meter.

  3. #3
    Brewmaster Mike
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    56
    Ok, so is there no possible way to make an adjustment? Would Yamaha cover it under warranty since its really useless the way it is now? Close to 30mph off....I would say it's defective.

  4. #4
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Just give it a while and it may start working more accurately. Sometimes mine does that then after a few more hours of riding it goes back to reading fairly close to my actual speed. The dealer could tell you if it could be recalibrated using the Yamaha software.

  5. #5
    Brewmaster Mike
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    56
    Ok, when I take it in for the first oil change (hopefully very soon), I'll ask about it.

  6. #6
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by mmayer View Post
    Ok, so is there no possible way to make an adjustment? Would Yamaha cover it under warranty since its really useless the way it is now? Close to 30mph off....I would say it's defective.
    you probably have it in kilometers you have to switch it to mph.

  7. #7
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by JIM'S PERFORMANCE View Post
    you probably have it in kilometers you have to switch it to mph.
    haha +1

    Forgot about that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. calibrating the speedometer?
    By anrkii in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2007, 06:07 PM
  2. speedometer
    By xplayer2885 in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2006, 09:39 PM
  3. Anybody have a speedometer pickup laying around?
    By jgustman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-30-2006, 12:24 AM
  4. Speedometer Not Working
    By jack in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-25-2005, 08:25 PM
  5. speedometer error rate -newbie
    By jonstephens in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 05-11-2005, 12:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •