Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    238
    +1
    3

    B1 or C3 and boost clamp AND no FPR

    With the mods I have below (I will change to probably a 13/24 prop) is it OK/Safe to run a B1/C3 and a boost clamp with no RRFPR? I intend to purchase a FPR in the future as I may go with the R1 reflash in the future. But as it stands now I can only afford a wheel and I may be able to borrow a BC (I know I can eliminate the BC after reflash).

    I also have a Rive Cooling kit that will be installed


  2. #2
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,134
    +1
    205
    No, it is not safe. I asked the same question on the Riva forums a few months ago. Basically the boost clamp tricks the ECU into sensing less boost than is actually being produced so the ECU will continue to allow more boost. The ECU will NOT add any more fuel with the boost clamp because it doesn't see the increase in boost. You will need to run a fuel pressure regulator with the boost clamp. IMO at the cost of the FPR and boost clamp, a reprogramed ECU may be better bang for the buck.

  3. #3
    STALKER FZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Smyrna, Delaware, United States
    Posts
    424
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeFZR View Post
    No, it is not safe. I asked the same question on the Riva forums a few months ago. Basically the boost clamp tricks the ECU into sensing less boost than is actually being produced so the ECU will continue to allow more boost. The ECU will NOT add any more fuel with the boost clamp because it doesn't see the increase in boost. You will need to run a fuel pressure regulator with the boost clamp. IMO at the cost of the FPR and boost clamp, a reprogramed ECU may be better bang for the buck.
    Good info.

  4. #4
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeFZR View Post
    No, it is not safe. I asked the same question on the Riva forums a few months ago. Basically the boost clamp tricks the ECU into sensing less boost than is actually being produced so the ECU will continue to allow more boost. The ECU will NOT add any more fuel with the boost clamp because it doesn't see the increase in boost. You will need to run a fuel pressure regulator with the boost clamp. IMO at the cost of the FPR and boost clamp, a reprogramed ECU may be better bang for the buck.

    I agree regarding the reprogrammed ECU.
    The only thing I would add is that if you desire to add more boost with say an E1 you need to be looking at the possability of adding a RRFPR then. Regardless, you need to know yor AFR so you can tune appropriately.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    238
    +1
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeFZR View Post
    No, it is not safe. I asked the same question on the Riva forums a few months ago. Basically the boost clamp tricks the ECU into sensing less boost than is actually being produced so the ECU will continue to allow more boost. The ECU will NOT add any more fuel with the boost clamp because it doesn't see the increase in boost. You will need to run a fuel pressure regulator with the boost clamp. IMO at the cost of the FPR and boost clamp, a reprogramed ECU may be better bang for the buck.
    Thanks, are you saying that I will still need a boost clamp even with a Reflash from R&D?

  6. #6
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,134
    +1
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by rcapone View Post
    Thanks, are you saying that I will still need a boost clamp even with a Reflash from R&D?
    No, the reprogramed ECU will allow for more boost without needing a boost clamp.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    238
    +1
    3
    Thanks, I actually found someone selling a C3, RRFPR and Boost Clamp so I'm waiting for him to give me a price. If it is good I will jump on it. Is it 100% necessary to have a A/F meter?

    Mike is your speed in your sig with stock SC Wheel and ECU?

  8. #8
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,134
    +1
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by rcapone View Post
    Thanks, I actually found someone selling a C3, RRFPR and Boost Clamp so I'm waiting for him to give me a price. If it is good I will jump on it. Is it 100% necessary to have a A/F meter?

    Mike is your speed in your sig with stock SC Wheel and ECU?
    A AFR gauge isnt 100% required but it's highly recommended. My speed in my sig is stock ecu and stock SC.

  9. #9
    Kristian Keppel Waterholics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Posts
    1,405
    +1
    38
    I would say it's 100% recommended to run an AFR gauge because one mistake with the RRFPR and you run the ski lean, it doesn't take long to mealt the piston. Don't ask me how I know People may say it is not 100% needed but really, $200 can save you a lot of money and get the best performance out of your setup. IMHO
    Last edited by Waterholics; 07-27-2011 at 01:40 AM.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    152
    Does anyone have AFR readings that prove that this is unsafe ? I am not saying it is safe or unsafe, Id just like to know how unsafe or safe it is.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. rxp beeping after key removed and no vts dispay or operation
    By Mike in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2017, 08:38 PM
  2. C3 and R2, No Powershot Needed, Correct?
    By poof100 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-04-2011, 08:39 AM
  3. B1 or C3 Wheel
    By hdlefler in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 06:23 PM
  4. WTB C1, C3 and/or Power Shot
    By dmarvin1 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 11:02 AM
  5. Help No speedo, or temp and display says sensor??
    By CarFanatic in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-29-2007, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •