10 hour service questions?

I have several questions about the 10 hr service. I will be doing this myself, I did the maintenence on my FXHO myself, so I have some experience. I also apolgize if this has been brought up before,but I'm looking for specific answers.

1) What is invoved?

2) I have a Moeller oil extractor. Will the hoses that came with that be enough to reach down far enough to get enough oil out or do I have to rig some thin hose on the end to get down further? ( I've heard stories of the tube scraping on the metal plate and getting stuck)

3) Is the original oil filter hard to get off?

4) I hear it is mandatory to pull a bolt out to add oil to the supercharger at the 10 hr service?

I did some pre prep before I even rode the ski I might be able to skip the plug check and lubing the cables because I did that in the begining,plus I antiseized the plugs and checked the exhaust clamps.Again sorry if this is repetitve and for the long rant, I just don't want to screw up a new expensive ski! Thank you in advance.

Just relax and enjoy the ride. XLT Chad's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by dso8950 View Post
    I have several questions about the 10 hr service. I will be doing this myself, I did the maintenence on my FXHO myself, so I have some experience. I also apolgize if this has been brought up before,but I'm looking for specific answers.

1) What is invoved?Change the oil,filter and lube the intermediate shaft

2) I have a Moeller oil extractor. Will the hoses that came with that be enough to reach down far enough to get enough oil out or do I have to rig some thin hose on the end to get down further? ( I've heard stories of the tube scraping on the metal plate and getting stuck)Get it just past where the dipstick tube enters the oil pan and you'll be fine.

3) Is the original oil filter hard to get off? not too bad, just use a good filter wrench.