Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1996 Yamaya Wave Venture

I am new to this and I have tried other PWC Forums but can't get anyone to help out. I took my ski out of storage and fired it up and let it run for a about of minute or so, with water hose attached all the water was curculating fine. I turned off to power wash machine and then I tried to restart, it just acted like was a low battery, so I went a bought a new battery and the same thing. It turns over and just sound like a weak battery. Friend told me to check the ground, I installed a new ground and smae thing. I have a new starter that I ordered, but my question(s) are. Could it be the starter and the soleniod, and where are they located and what do I have to do to replace it.

sorry for all the spelling errors, was in a hurry.

I hope you can fix it.. i just bought a 1997.. runs nice.. do you know where the grease points are on these skis?

No I sure don't. Mine ran perfect, just don't know what is up with why it won't start. I have a yamaha dealer up the road that is going to take a look at.

+1
    Did you disconnect the water hose before turning it off? If not, you probably got water inside the motor.

Now that I think about I did not turn off water first I killed the motor and then the water. But I have done that before with no problem so did not think it would hurt. I did find out that you are not suppose to do that because water can build up in the cylinders. Something about the water goes through the exaust.

+1
    Yes, the water can fill up the exhaust and go into the engine. You may have also filled up your waterbox. That may make it a bit harder to start if it has to try and push all the water out. After you blow the water out by goosing the throttle a few times, does it start any better? You can try this without attaching the hose if you only run the ski for 15 to 20 seconds, but not much longer than that. See if it starts any easier after blow out the waterbox.

+1