Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: MELT DOWN!!!

+1

MELT DOWN!!!

Well here are some pics of my 07 1300 pistons. The one that burned down is the mag cylinder. Other than spending a month at lake of the ozarks and injesting some water through the K&N and bogging the motor some their has been no unusual changes. the EFI controller is at the same settings for the past two seasons and the oil pump runs wide open all the time. Any ideas on what would have caused this. She ran perfect one second and then just shut down to 40 mph in a second, thought at first it was electrical because of the immediate change, a fowled plug or something. ( I wish!)
    the first two pics are of the center and pto pistons and the rest are of the mag piston, melted down on the exhaust side as you can see. I have been running regular pump gas with ethenol for the past three years but maybe it's bad gas anyway, alcohol burn down or something??
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i phone june 14_2011 326.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	135.9 KB 
ID:	242205   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i phone june 14_2011 325.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	124.9 KB 
ID:	242204   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i phone june 14_2011 327.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	116.7 KB 
ID:	242203   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i phone june 14_2011 328.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	52.7 KB 
ID:	242202   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	i phone june 14_2011 329.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	95.5 KB 
ID:	242201  

im no pro but looks like youve had a "hot spot" occur on the edge of that piston, not sure whats caused it maybe excess carbon in the cylinder has started glowing hot and built up so much heat right on the exhaust port its melted? thats just a thought.

+1