Thread: use anti sieze?

use anti sieze?

sorry for all the questions, I'm new at this and anxiously await your replies!....I may be taking my head off and looking for clues to probs...should I use anti sieze when putting bolts back? just searched 5 pages and couldn't find...more replies stating the use of blue loctite...thanks!

ok, took off heads, everything thinks pretty good to me, what do ya think?? should I get new gaskets? (both head and cover?)
    also, I'm thinking of milling a few thou off the heads even though they look good, is there a standard amount? thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010007.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	142.4 KB 
ID:	242243   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010006.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	139.2 KB 
ID:	242244   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010009.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	137.5 KB 
ID:	242245   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010008.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	147.3 KB 
ID:	242246   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010010.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	120.8 KB 
ID:	242247  

+1
    Get with Jim of Jim's Performance about milling the head. Seems there is something about not milling as much off the back cylinder for some reason. May only be on 1200R's not 1300, but it's worth asking.

I think I've been using red, 271 Loctite on my cases & cylinders.

I think most of the guys lean toward replacing gaskets, better to err on side of caution.

thank you!....has anyone ever heard of reseating(milling) the area where the plug sits? I'm asking because there seems to be a little oil accumulated around the plugs and I'm wondering if this could be a problem even though the plugs are torqued to spec or a little over???...also compression is a little low...

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by phumb View Post