Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Alternative to using 15w50 oil in Weber turbo MSX150, MSX110 engines?

Has anybody used anything else besides 15w50 for oil in their turbo 4 strokes?

It doesn't seem like a very common oil to find.
    I can get 20w50 that is quite a bit thicker than the 15w50
    Last edited by K447; 06-22-2011 at 09:18 AM.

15W-50 is a special oil with different qualities. NAPA stores carry it.

I am not an oil expert, I would guess that due to manufacturing variations there is not much difference between 15w-50 and 20w-50. 15w-50 would be the preferred choice and I have had success finding Mobil 1 15w-50 at Walmart, Auto Zone, and Advance Auto in the US.

The factory ECU calibration is very rich across the rpm curve. So you want to use a good quality synthetic that will stand up to the oil contamination caused by this rich condition better than a conventional oil. Desperado's reflash will give a nice boost in performance and addresses the rich condition. I would also suggest changing the oil much more frequently that the owner's manual suggests. If you are out cruising around at part throttle casting a fishing line then you would probably be fine with a change every 25-30 hours. But if you are running around at WOT a lot, with a factory calibrated ECU, every 15 hours may be better.

As fuel builds up in the oil, you will be able to smell it in the oil tank, it will dilute the oil and reduce its lubrication properties. Left unchecked, it will lead to greatly reduced service life of the engine.

+1
    Ensure you use an oil formulation that still contains zinc. Most current automotive oils on the market do not contain zinc anymore (thanks to the EPA....). Zinc is a crucial additive to help protect against metal to metal contact and scuffing.

The Weber valvetrain is sensitive to sub-standard oils with no zinc because of the valve springs tension and cam to roller rocker design.