Common Problems/Solutions

I have a '97 GTX that was running great last season. I had the dealership winterize it and stored it outside over the winter(it snows here) for the first time since I've owned it. The dealer said it would be fine. Anyway, I'm trying to get them ready for the season and it won't start. I'm still new to the sport, so any common solutions would be helpful. The starter will turn the motor fine but I can't get it to start. I've replaced the spark plugs and sprayed starter fluid into the carburator and put injector/carburator cleaner in the gas tank, but I'm out of ideas before I give up and take it in.

What am I missing?
    Also, I put gas in it from my gas can that did not get fuel preserver in it over the winter season. Can the gas go bad after 6 months? Does it happen that fast? Would it cause this kind of problems?
    Thanks.

If i knew,...I wouldn't ask sea-one's Avatar
    +1
    First mistake was the fuel cleaner you put in it as this will destroy the neoprene diaphrams and O rings in the carbs,It swells up everything,takem apart now and have a look at that..also i need to ask the obvious.....it the gas selector ON?

Ah yes, forgot to mention that. Yes, I tried starting in all three positions of the fuel selector as the service guy suggested when I called. He said the valve can get messed up and to try in on "gas", "off", and "reserve". No luck.

I was talking to a friend and mentioned that the spark plugs I got were from autozone(but still the right type) and were not "marine" sparkplugs. Would that make a difference? The machine hasn't been in the water yet and I'm pretty sure the old plugs were the same and had no trouble last season.

Check the battery voltage while cranking. I chased this problem for hours. The ski will sound normal, but if the battery voltage drops, the ignition system will not fire.

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1