Exclamation Kawasaki 1100 STX - burning oil

Hi All,

Looking for some light at the end of the tunnel. I have a kawasaki 1100 stx and I've gone over it time and time again. I make sure the oil is full and everything is good. I take it out to the local lake and ride it for about 45min-hour and the oil light comes on and starts flashing at me. When I take the seat off there is no leakage of oil anywhere. It's just disappearing. This happens every time I take it out. I keep it well maintained but I just can't figure this out. I know it's supposed to burn a little oil and that's normal, but when the light keeps coming on I know that's gotta be bad.

Does this usually mean rings? Or my engine needs to be rebuilt? I was hoping not and maybe it was just a broken seal, but it's really annoying being only able to ride it for a short period of time before I have to park it. I am an IT Admin and Web Designer and don't know much about jetskis/waverunners.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

+1
    Welcome aboard, Boldfist!

So, the oil IS disappearing at a rapid rate, correct? Have you notice that the exhaust smokes like crazy?

I don't know what year your 'Ski is. The early ones had fixed ratio pumps, I don't know if the later ones had variable ratio pumps or not. If it does have a variable ratio pump, and the cable breaks or slips off, or if the spring breaks, it will use all kinds of oil.

Look on the front of your engine and inspect the oil pump. It's the thing on the engine with a bunch of rubber hoses coming out of it. If there is a cable and pulley attached to it, watch it while you move the throttle lever. It should move. If the spring is broken, the pulley won't return to the idle position.

Quote Originally Posted by steve45 View Post
    Welcome aboard, Boldfist!

So, the oil IS disappearing at a rapid rate, correct? Have you notice that the exhaust smokes like crazy?