Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    306

    Tach Input for Logging

    Someone posted a picture of where you could pickup the tach input for logging. The wires are located behind the white plastic sheet in the front storage compartment. They are easy to find, but, here is the question: the wires that come out of the tach actually terminate into a two hole automotive type connection. It is just their and goes no where - anyone have an idea why that stranded connector is their.


  2. #2
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    That was me who posted that pic. If I remember right, the tach lead has a white 2-lead connector & there is another unused black connector in the same location. I have no idea what the black one is for, but I'm gonna take a wild guess & say they are intended for diagnostic purposes.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    306
    You are right, two stranded connectors.

  4. #4
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    Next time I see Bruce at Riva I'll ask him what the unused black connector is for. He's the one who told me the white one was the tach lead.

    Quote Originally Posted by psp View Post
    why dont you guys just grab the yamaha YDS system for all the data logging and diagnostics you will ever need
    www.
    The interface cable for the YDIS looks to have have a different type of connector(looks like a 3-lead) than the 2 stranded connectors the OP is wondering about. The connector on that cable looks like it would either plug directly to the ECU or maybe to the other stranded connector on the harness near the MAP sensor.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20110604130008_DSC00714.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	179.2 KB 
ID:	243884  

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    306
    Quote Originally Posted by psp View Post
    why dont you guys just grab the yamaha YDS system for all the data logging and diagnostics you will ever need
    www.
    The reason for the logging is that I added wideband and a boost gauge and need the rpm to make sense of the variables. The factory diagnostics is not a logger, plus, you cannot not import data into it, however, we can export data such as the rpm into the logger.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ? On Tach resistor - for u electronic guys
    By tchies in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2012, 11:52 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2012, 12:40 AM
  3. 06 RXP input for mods..
    By ultra150nc in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 08:12 AM
  4. Tiny Tach Help for fzr
    By sdman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 09:07 PM
  5. GPS and Tach numbers for analysis
    By MPower in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-16-2006, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •