I know they smoke - but MAN this thing SMOKES

Just bought a waverunner (97 GP760).
    Seems to run great - snappy throttle - but does it SMOKE.
    Stained my grass black.
    And there is a bunch of oily carbon at the exhaust.

What do I have for options?
    Can I tune on the oil injection?
    From what Im reading - you are all going to tell me to self mix. Do I need a kit for that?

How about the best place to get a manual for this bad boy.....?

OK - a bit more......pulled the plugs.....soaked in oil.

Looked over the oil injection, obviously not adjustable.......

Could timing or weak spark not be burning all the mixture?
    Im new to 2 cycles....

Is all oil created equal? Do some smoke less than others?
    Currently using Yamalube 2W

Its better to burn out than fade away christian79's Avatar
    Marysville Ohio
    If the previous owner fogged the engine since its last use the issues you speak of will present themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by christian79 View Post
    If the previous owner fogged the engine since its last use the issues you speak of will present themselves.
    great point!
    I know I cleared the entire park of mosquitos when I first fired mine up from it`s winter nap...

IMHO yamalube 2W does not smoke a lot. There are other oils avalable that burn cleaner and smoke even less...
    search few oil related threads and you`ll see a lot of good info regarding brands and uses...

Indianapolis, IN
    My Dad swears by Maxima Super M, his smokes a bit but he runs it at 32:1 b/c of his mods...My mom's ski (2002 XLT 1200) is only mildly modified, and we run it at 45:1....and virtually no smoke at all...the downside it is a bit pricey.

I run Quicksilver Premium Plus in mine at 40:1, just to be safe I guess. It does smoke a bit but not too badly....

Thanks guys - Im going to take it out for the first time within the week.....Ill flog it and see if it doesnt burn out some excess!