Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    njjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kettle Creek, Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    53

    Question Error Code 135. Dealer failed to fix it on first attempt. Now what?

    After completing a 4-day, 711-mile trip from NJ to VA and back, my 2008 Waverunner VX Deluxe broke down 1 mile from home. After performing the self-diagnostic check the display showed a 135 error code.

    The service manual shows error codes 131 thru 135 pertain to an Accelerator Position Sensor malfunction. Does anyone know exactly what a 135 is for (bad connection, out of adjustment, etc.)? Also, is it posible to erase the code by simply disconnecting the battery for a few minutes?

    Thanks.

    -Joe
    Last edited by njjoe; 07-12-2011 at 09:40 AM.


  2. #2
    R rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bayville NJ
    Posts
    502
    +1
    8
    Some codes need to be reset with the computer . Not sure what year VX we have at the shop your welcome to try a part to figure out the problem before you buy a new part .

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    238
    +1
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by njjoe View Post
    After performing the self-diagnostic check the display showed a 135 error code.
    How do you perform this test?

  4. #4
    njjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kettle Creek, Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by rcapone View Post
    How do you perform this test?
    It is an extremely simple process. With the engine running, press and HOLD the select button for 8 seconds. A two or three-digit code will come up on the display.

    Here is a list of the codes:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Waverunner error codes.jpg 
Views:	2872 
Size:	75.9 KB 
ID:	244344

    -Joe

  5. #5
    njjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kettle Creek, Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by R rated View Post
    Some codes need to be reset with the computer . Not sure what year VX we have at the shop your welcome to try a part to figure out the problem before you buy a new part .
    Thank you for the kind offer.

    Do you work on Yamaha's? If so, I may simply bring the ski to your shop for repair.

    I still can not believe I traveled 711 miles and the ski failed just one mile from home! That is either good luck or bad luck.

    -njjoe

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    the moon
    Posts
    862
    +1
    19
    is this the same for an sho or an fzr. does anyone have a list of fault codes for these. just for future reference.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    238
    +1
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by njjoe View Post
    It is an extremely simple process. With the engine running, press and HOLD the select button for 8 seconds. A two or three-digit code will come up on the display.
    Thanks, This should be the same for a 08 SHO Cruiser or other Yamaha's?

  8. #8
    njjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kettle Creek, Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    53

    Question

    I need your help!

    I brought my Waverunner to the local Yamaha dealer and they are having problems fixing my ski.

    The 135 error code was confirmed and suggested the problem was with the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) which they replaced, but the problem remained. They then took an Accelerator Position Sensor (APS) from a new ski and installed it on mine, but the problem still existed. They took my original TPS and APS and installed them on the new ski and it ran fine, so they ruled out either component, and put them back on my ski. Now they are claiming it is the $1,100 harness. My fear is that they are now simply just throwing parts at the problem. Any suggestions??

    -Joe

  9. #9
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Have they tried a different known working ECU? Also, they need to check continuity on the connections to the harness back to the conenctor to the ECU (That is in the service manual). There are also two relays in the fuse box that may or may not be a plausable source.

    You can get the harness for less that $700 (http://www.partspak.com/productcart/...D3-8259L-A3-00) if it is actually needed. Before ordering that I would have it in writing that if that did not resolve the issue you get money back.

    It does seem a bit extreme to replace an entired harness if they haven't even tested it.

  10. #10
    njjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kettle Creek, Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post
    It does seem a bit extreme to replace an entire harness if they haven't even tested it.
    Thanx for the response.

    I just called Yamaha Customer Support and spoke to a technical specialist who was very helpful. When I explained the problem he indicated the dealer took the same diagnostic approach he would have taken, and was impressed that the dealer put both the TPS and APS in a floor model to confirm they worked. He also claims it is plausible the harness may be compromised by corrosion and suggested each connector be removed and sprayed with "T9" every other year to inhibit future corrosion. So now I am less concerned by the approach the dealer is taking.

    However, the cost and warranty is still an issue. I was quoted a price in excess of $1,000 for the part, plus 2 hours for installation. That is quite a bit to pay for a 3 year old, meticulously-maintained ski with only 126 hours. The dealer also balked at offering any type of warranty on the repair because he claims my 711-mile trip is not typical use. I had to negotiate to get a 10 hour warranty on the parts and labor. So if the ski throws a 135 error code within the next 10 hours they will credit the cost of repair and start over. A follow-up call with Yamaha found that the harness comes with a 1 year warranty.

    With any luck I should have the ski back in a day or two.

    -Joe

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. STX-R Leaking - Your opinion as to how to fix it
    By tua79610 in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 01:57 PM
  2. Tunnel cracking on SHO/FZR/FZS Now is the Time to Fix it!
    By 2fast4u in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 05:04 AM
  3. sl750 hood wont unlock, how to fix it?
    By 87r in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 03:41 PM
  4. Vts quit working how to fix it??
    By castiljd in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 06:31 AM
  5. this will affect my perfomance a hole in my hull what to fix it with???
    By spyder3000gtvr4 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 10:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •