Thread: Greenish blue?

Greenish blue?

Ok, I'm new to having ski's I bought 2 94 sl650's 1 runs, 1 has this grrenish-blue grease/oil? coming out of the cylinders. I pulled the plugs because the starter would turn the engine over about 3 times and stop I figured something in the cylinders. without the plugs it would shoot this well into the air, I finally got this beast running and it just poured out the back of the ski . So what I'm asking is what and where this came from ideas? I'm assuming its some type of failed seal, if thats the case I need to know what needs the grease because I would assume something was using it lol. Thanks for any help, if anyone knowledgeable would like to walk send me a big what to service, where and all I'd really appreciate it.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk

My guess is that there was a large quantity of 2-stroke oil inside the engine. Why would be the question.

Normally these engines only have a thin film of oil inside the crank case. As the engine runs some of the oil gets blown into the combustion chamber and burned with the fuel. At the same time a dribble of replacement oil is provided by the oil pump from the oil tank.

I suggest you check over the oil pump system to determine if it is intact.

Check cylinder compression. Cranking the engine with liquid inside can cause hydraulic lock, which can literally bend or crack internal engine parts.

Compression testing may or may not reveal any damage, but it is worth doing on both engines as a baseline measurement. Always remove all spark plugs and hold throttle wide open when checking compression.

Look through my signature links for more info regarding common maintenance and recommended upgrades.

It is worthwhile to do the maintenance first, before you start riding your machines. It is possible to badly damage the engine in minutes if the carburetors, fuel system or the oiling system need attention.