Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SLT 780 seems to be running very rich.

Im a noob.

My brother gave me a pair of SLT 780's and I am working on getting them back to great condition.

One of them is giving me fits. It is slow to pull out of the hole. revs to about 4000-4200 will stuggle like it wants to plane but wont until I hit a wave that gets the jetpump out of the water then it will rev to 5500 ish and run pretty fast until I let off the throttle. Then its back to 4400 and replay.

I have been reading several of the post on this AWESOME forum and thanks to all who contribute its been very helpful on several other issues. Some of the post have been talking about carb mixtures High an low settings etc. I have run through a couple of sets of plugs and it seems fine on the high end (when I can get it to the high end) but on the low end it seems very very rich. I have the low screws set to about 1 turn out and Im a little concerned about getting it too lean. (maybe I'm a wuss).

As a side note it seems to smoke (exhaust) more than the other one and the exhaust area is covered in oil.

I know it is hard to help with out seeing it. I am working on getting the Compression. will probably do this on Mon.

I am wondering if the oil injector is pumping in too much oil and this is more likely than it running too rich.
    (I am running theses at an altitude 4500 msl and im sure the jets are stock)

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Which model years?

Oil pump linkage connected and working?

Have the carburetors been rebuilt?

Sorry Both are 96 SLT 780's.

the oil pump linking is connected and appears to be working.

I did tear down and clean the carbs yesterday. haven't "rebuilt" them yet. planning on ordering kits this weekend. which leads me to another question. where does someone get the pop off test tool?

+1