2009 vx deluxe top speed???

Hello all. I am new to the Yamaha world of skis, with the recent purchase of a 2009 vx deluxe. I have owned Polaris Genesis in the past, and am glad to be rid of that problem! I must say I am very happy with the reliability of the yamaha 4 stroke engine. It is smooth and reliable, and very economical. I was told that this unit should run in the 50 mph range. I am slightly disappointed here. Best I have seen is 41 on the speedo, and it took a LONG time to get there. The performance seems pretty good, with max RPM being in the 7500 range. I was wondering if anyone has some tips for me, being new to the 4 stroke yami world. Is it possible the speedo is off? I dont think it is. My old Polaris would run 55+ (when it ran) and that was pretty dang fast. This doesnt feel like that. Was I given some bad info on top speed for this unit?

+1
    Randy, the speedo means nothing; first get a true baseline speed with a GPS unit.
    According to Riva that model should be hitting 50-52 mph; did you buy it used? I don't know how many hours it has but I would start with a simple test; remove the air filter element and then see what your GPS says. My guess is the restrictive OEM air filter is a big part of your problem.

Beyond that, maybe fresh set of plugs and fresh gas. Some people go out and buy used skis and run them on gas that is over a year or two old! Jerry has a section with some goodies for your ski; I would start by dumping that air filter and try the VX Performance Power Filter Kit:
    http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...roducts_id=856

Neighborhood Superman SlowStang305's Avatar
    +1
    Something isn't right. You need to check the plugs and make sure the air filter doesn't have oil. Take the filter out and run it and see what top speed you get. The speedo is inaccurate but usually reads higher not lower then actual speeds.

+1