Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

1994 Polaris SL 650

Hey guys

New to the forum and was looking for some help. I am new to the world of JetSki's. I picked up a 1994 SL650 about 2 months ago, it runs strong it wasnt used for several years so I looked over everything and looked good, fired up the first try after I gave it some fresh gas. I am handy mechnically but never worked on a Jetski before. been riding it for the past 2 month or so it goes pretty strong few mods id like to do to it first but wanted to get this taken care of first. I noticed when first launched it doesnt want to start right up it does start but not the second you press the button. also after riding awhile then letting it just idle it tends to stall randomly at all. im guessing the root of this problem is the carbs are old and need a rebuild. it also needs the 3 outlet fuel pump upgrade. I talked to a shop who said for the 3 outlet fuel pump rebuilding the carbs replacing the fuel lines is going to run around 500 dollars. Dont really want to spend 500 dollars right now but have never rebuild a carb or anything, is it that difficuilt to do this job? or just time consuming? any help would be greatly apprecaited!

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the hulk.

Not that difficult and not that time consuming.

Be sure to use genuine Mikuni parts though.

Do some reading.

http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/show...-750-780-785-s

Banned User
    +1
    Most difficult part it removing the carbs. Other than that its pretty simple. Just do 1 carb at a time and take your time

+1
    Thanks guys, still a bit uneasy as ive NEVER worked with carbs and dont want to ruin the ski, as I got it for free. I like Fuel Injection!

Anyway I know i need to upgrade to the 3 outlet fuel pump what fuel pump fits the SL650 for the 3 outlet? ive been reading so many forums my eyes are quiting on me!

+1