2002 XLT1200 Rebuild help

Bought a 2002 XLT1200 for $1700 thursday. Number 3 cylinder had 50 psi in it. Lastnight my buddy and i ripped the engine down to the crank. Number 3 piston was shot. Gouges and grooves all over. Jug has two pieces of the piston welded to its side. Found out the reason was the oil line was blown off the rear carb. The piston and walls were bone dry.

My questions are:

1) Who has the most reputable top end rebuild kits? Looking for reliability not big balls since this will be my girls ski. I see pro-x, wsm, sbt, etc. I'm completely new to this sport and from the research i have done i can't tell from one or the other.

2) Where can I get a rear jug? The PV's and everything just need a good cleaning but i dont think i can get the cylinder honed because of how bad it looks and I dont want to bore it out. I've checked ebay and some dude must be smokin crack if they think someone is dumb enough to pay $450 for a jug with a piston stuck in it.

3) Is there anything else I should be looking for? We were thinking about sending the carbs out to be rebuilt since i think its a little strange an oil line would blow off like that. If there a check valve in the carb that could clog and cause that? Or is it possibly for the lines to just work themselves loose. The hose definitely didnt not have enough play in it when we reconnected it.

Thanks for all the help. And just so you know this is my first rebuild for any type of motot EVER and my first set of ski's. There are about a thousand threads similar to this but im on a time crunch and i dont know enough to be flying solo on purchasing parts.

First post this in the yamaha 2 stoke section-youll get more replies. As far as answering your questions - there are a lot of variables