Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

newbie here...engine knocking loudly on gp800!

okay would like to say hello to everyone...been creeping on the site for a while. i have little to know experience or knowledge with skis. im a diesel tech so i like to think im mechanically inclined and was able to get these two ski's running after 6 years of sitting. on to the issues:

the one ski rides awesome no problems. last year was our first season and the one had a subtle lag until 4k rpm..seemed like carb issues no big deal just dealt with it.

i fueled up today and headed out...fired one one that lags a bit and rode for a bit and heard a knocking noise under my seat. now the ski runs awesome. doesn't miss, according to the speedo i was running at 57mph(no gps of course)...at idle i get this obnoxious knocking sound...now from an automotive stand point i would say like a rod knock sound. but i have no idea about these skis. maybe theres a common issue with these? i normally run 93 octane in all my vehicles. after i filled up, my fiance made it a point to say " why did you use 87?" unsure if that is the issue. last year i had no knocking issues. any help would be great. maybe i can put a vid up tomorrow if it would help the diag.

thanks again in advance,

Matt
    Last edited by matman115; 08-01-2011 at 07:37 AM.

btw they are 99 gp800x's

Just a little update...i talked to a buddy that suggested possible water in the fuel. He said siphon it out change plugs and try again. I tried this last season and was a pain i took them out yesterday and ran them all but empty. Still knocked and stalled a bit and kinda sluggish on the bottom end...my friend suggested that if it were an internal engine component it would have deff popped the engine by now(2 days of hard riding to use up the fuel)...im ordering wave eater clips as precautionary measure this week. Any other thoughts on the knocking sound? The ski only has less than 50 hours on it.

+1