Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Modded 96 Seadoo XP questions

Hey there, this is my first "official" post here, although this forum has helped me out a lot in the past. I am thinking about buying my first sit down jet ski (up until now my only ski has been a 750sx). I care much more about hole shots and handling than top end, so I've decided on what I've heard is the best of the best, the 96 XP. I recently found one on CL that intrigued me, so tell me what you think.

First of all, I'm an extreme newbie, not only to this forum but to PWC modding in general, so I'm sure some of these questions are going to sound dumb. Feel free to make fun of me all you want as long as some sort of answer is supplied as well.

Here is the AD in a nutshell (with my commentary in parenthesis): 96 Seadoo XP Hydro-Turf Race Version (all I found searching that were floor mats and hot girls, but I could use some of the second one ), painted blue and white with blue and black seat cover (much better than yellow and pink), motor has about 20 hours on rebuild, ADA racing head and cylinder (does this help top end, out of the hole, or both?), Fischetti's Rocket Ship Expansion Pipe (I know this is exhaust, but I couldn't find anything on it, not in the way of jet skis at least. help?), jet dynamics tail (I'm assuming this is the ride plate? but it doesn't say if its extended or not. aftermarket I assume would be), hot tach race pack (searched this and mainly found parts for snowmobiles, not too much on skis. what i did find cost about $150 though. what does this part do?), tiny tach digital tachometer and hour meter (pretty self explanatory), 2001 Load Rite Trailer.

I have read that newbies in ski modification shouldn't have highly modded skis because of the maintenance that goes into them. My question is, would this be considered a "highly modified ski?" What level of modification would you consider this? Also, with these upgrades would it drink gas?