Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question 2001 Ficht Genesis Hesitation problem

I have been fighting a hesistation problem for a year now. Over the winter I bought a 1999 Genesis w/o an EMM and fitted it with a 2001 EMM and injector set. That ski runs beautiful.

You can look at my other posts last year but the 2001 had a magnet go in the flywheel. Since then I have changed new TPS, CPS, EMM off to DFI twice, capacitor, rebuilt harness with bad corroded connections. I have to say I am an expert at the Ficht skis now. I know more about them than I have ever cared to.

So I have an electronics background so I purchased an oscilloscope. So I set out and disconnected the EMM off the 99 and 2001. I measured every pin and component connected and they all matched with the exception for the Stator on the 2001. Now I know 9 Meg Ohms is very high but I found it between pin 5-8 to ground. With my O-scope, I monitored the 45v and I get 44Vdc and < .2V ripple on the 1999 at the Capacitor. On the 2001, I get 44Vdc and spikes of over 5Vp-p ripple. Yes, I said FIVE Volts p-p spikes. I swapped EMMs between them and the 2001 still had the issue. I even disconnected one injector at a time and measured on my O-scope but it was still the same. I was thinking the electric coil of the of one of the injectors was inducing it back into the 45v.

Is this a bad stator? Has anybody seen this before.

When I replaced the flywheel, I removed the stator and inspected it. I saw no physical damage. A new stator is $300. I performed the stator check and I get 7v, 7v, 5v, 5v, and 5v. On my O-scope the waveforms are clean sine waves.

I was reading on AC ripple on cars 12V and it said if you have more than .5v (4%) ripple causes problems. I am having over 5V ripple spikes on 45v(>10%).

Cabot Arkansas