Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How to adjust carbs

well, i finally got my SL900 to run after having alot of ignition problem. I got to take it out this weekend. I think it is running either rich or lean. From takeoff, it has a really bad bog. If it turn to the left and rock the ski to the left it will all of a sudden take off. But anytime i try to turn to the right it will bog down. When it does take off, it runs very smooth and quick. So, im assuming that the reason it is doing this is because the jetting is off. Im new to jetskis, and 2 strokes. So how do i go about adjusting the carbs...like where is the high speed screw, and low speed screw?

and ive tried using the search thing on this forum, and cant get that to do only Polaris info.

hope someone can help! thanks!

Banned User
    +1
    Ther eis no high speed screw. On the keihin carbs its all done through jet changes. Does it fall flat on its face when you hit the gas or does it spit and sputter until it goes? if its sputtering and clears out, its rich. Apply the choke and see if that makes it better or worse. If the choke helps its lean. Also verify that your accel pump is working. Looking down the carb throats when you squeeze the throttle hard, you should see fuel shooting down into the carbs. You can check that with the engine off. Also check that you have the proper jets in the carbs.

it will spit and spudder at about 3400 RPM and then after like 500 feet it will all of a sudden take off. or like i said if i turn left it will take off right away. i think i read somewhere online that if you tip to one side, and it runs right its lean, and if you tip to the other side and runs its rich. I dont remember exactly where it was.

I tried taking off the intake and just revving it a little and it bogged instantly, that would mean that it is lean right? and with the choke, i tried that and it just died. really weird.