Help with motor and jet

Hello there,
    I'm brand new to both this forum and to the world PWC's. I want to put a 750 or bigger motor and jet into a self built 10' wood/glass boat. The plans are from Glen-L and the boat plan is a Squirt. It looks like loads of fun. I'm curious to know what the best motor and jet would be for this project. Some people, who have already done this, actually cut the hull of an existing boat/ski and graft it into the wooden boat. While others just take the motor and jet and build it into their hull. What motors and jets should I stay away from? Are there stronger years than others? What should I be looking at to spend for basically a motor and jet or a not working motor complete with hull? I guess you can tell I'm sort of floundering. Any feedback (positive I hope) would be greatly appreciated, even a potential donor motor and jet from somewhere in western Canada.
    Thanks Byron

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 1956chevtruck View Post
    I want to put a 750 or bigger motor and jet into a self built 10' wood/glass boat.....what the best motor and jet would be for this project. Some people, who have already done this, actually cut the hull of an existing boat/ski and graft it into the wooden boat. While others just take the motor and jet and build it into their hull. What motors and jets should I stay away from? Are there stronger years than others?
    Byron,
    This sounds like a really fun project.

Unless you have precise engineering drawings and are extremely good at making molds and laying up glass, I would advise you get a donor hull and cut the pump tunnel out of it to mate up with your boat hull. To me there are just far too many factors related to pump cavitation and driveshaft alignment that make a self-made pump section extremely difficult.