Pittsburgh, Pa

Water coming out of "spark plugs" 99 xl 1200 ltd

Ok i took a chance and got a good deal on a 99 xl1200 ltd. Guy said it may have a bad crank. Turns out it was the starter and/or battery. Ran it in my garage on water, that went fine. So i took it to the river, started it up, and pulled off the seat..... to find water what looked to be coming out from around the spark plugs. I'm guessing the head is cracked, or warped, or my genius self put the new head gasket on wrong. Anyways I'm going to take it apart because I found a few other problems. I'm going pre-mix, also i think I have a water circulation problem (no water out of front pissers). My questions are has anyone experienced this? Someone (a VERY good mechanic) told me he puts a thin bead of sealant around the water jacket, bad idea? I'm kind of new to PWC's, working on them atleast so I guess if anyone has any other ideas I'd appreciate it

Texas City, Texas
    Welcome to the forum.

Your problem could be just between the top of the head and water jacketed part of the head rather than head and cylinders, and all you will need is a bit more of torque.

It would be wise to see if any water was in the cylinders and to figure if you put it on properly. Torque specs and bolt tightening at the proper sequencing is just as important.

As far as water out of the pissers.... it will return when you put your boat back into the water and put a load on the cooling system. There is not enough water pressure from your water supply at the house sometimes to force it to dump overboard through the pissers.

guntersville Ala
    also look for dirt dobber cloging pisser

Pittsburgh, Pa