Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    chip be for a d plate

    i have a 99 xl and it had the d plate put in before i bought it. the motor is out and being rebuilt right now and going into my 01 xlt. where would i look for the chip for the d plate and will that work in my xlt. thanks


  2. #2
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by demag67 View Post
    i have a 99 xl and it had the d plate put in before i bought it. the motor is out and being rebuilt right now and going into my 01 xlt. where would i look for the chip for the d plate and will that work in my xlt. thanks
    it's on the left side of the electrical box same area were the coolant temp. sensor plugs in.

  3. #3
    does it plug inline with the exhaust temp sender.

  4. #4
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by demag67 View Post
    does it plug inline with the exhaust temp sender.
    you take the exhaust sensor plug out and you install the chip in it's place.

  5. #5
    thanks, guessing i am gonna have to buy one. the sensor was plugged into the harness. i kind of figured it was like a o2 sensor delete on a car but wasn't sure. thanks

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,274
    +1
    81
    Remember, its the sensor that is on the fat part of the exhaust pipe, up by the catcon. It does plug in on the electrical box. Just cut the sensor off, and using a 1K ohm 1/2 watt precision resistor from Radio Shack, connect one end of the resistor to one wire, the other end to the other wire. Doesn't matter which one goes where. For a buck you now have your own "chip".

  7. #7
    thanks, that helps in saving money since i am doing a complete rebuild. wish there was a way of using the sensor. if the sensor worked and the motor went lean it should read the higher exhaust temp and turn on the light on the dash. the guy before me rode around with the sensor plugged in so i guess the light was on the whole time.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Best Setting For Jims FF Plate
    By Mik72e in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 02:13 PM
  2. New stuff for filling tab/plate holes
    By fullboogie in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-31-2007, 04:58 PM
  3. What should stock RPM be for GP800/GP1200
    By DTV in forum Yamaha Old School Skis
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-28-2007, 01:17 PM
  4. Question for the ride plate gurus
    By 75 + Single in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 10-02-2006, 05:36 PM
  5. Changing oil this weekend does it have to be for wet clutch
    By macattack in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 10:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •