Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Old School Never Dies! codemanrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    819

    Will ride plate work?

    Im starting to order parts for the Raider and I wanted to know if a riva or pro-tec ride plate is better than the stock one? If so, which is better out of the two? Thanks
    Cody


  2. #2
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    Get with BULLRAIDER....a.k.a. "Jeff" he is one of our Raider GURU's,


    Jeff, where are ya !

  3. #3
    Old School Never Dies! codemanrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    819
    yes, please help!

  4. #4
    RAIDER RUNNER BULLRAIDER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    HOUSTON TEXAS
    Posts
    651
    Cody glad you are here, welcome to the forum
    .....first how about that signature???.that is flying for stock......can you give rpm and water conditions?

    since I can tell you like speed you need to ONLY get the Protec shorty rideplate, it is the fastest (SPEEDO INTACT) plate there is for our skis.period.

  5. #5
    Old School Never Dies! codemanrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    819
    So it will actually help with speed? Thats good to hear.

    With the signature thing....I get down to most precise. The lake I take it to is Green Lake in Spicer, MN. When I do my run, I run with the guage flashing (for gas). Run on reserve. I always use 91 octane fuel. We have 93 but It runs alot better on 91. Most of the raiders I have riddin tend to just let itself turn to the right, (including mine) very slightly, just let it take itself where it wants to go. You get the best speed out of this. Keep the trim in neutral. You need to keep it there when you put the 5 degree nozzle on. The lake at 930 (because state law in MN for PWCs is you can only be on from 930 to 830) is total glass. I will have to get a picture for you guys. I have never seen anything as smooth. Im the only one on it at that time so I do runs in different places. I weight about 195 so Im somewhat light for the ski....well I think I am. Make sure the ski is comletely empty of anything, like storage, a little water left in the hull, make sure its completly free of any extra weight. The best runs I get are in end of may, early june because the water is still freezing from the winter but its still very warm out.

    My signture is the best I have ever reached, but I average around mid 62.

    Oh, if this makes any difference. All the vids I watch of top speed runs, they lay on the seat flat with feet out. I don't like this. I make sure that i have my feet in the footholds for more balance so it doesnt start to chine-walk. I lay my upper body on the seat. To me, this keeps it from any attempt of it to start to sway, which will make you lose more speed.

    And I have no Idea of what its runnin for RPMs. I would kind of like to find that out though.

  6. #6
    oldmanraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    298
    Codemanrose Welcome to the forum, it's great to have another raider guy here.

    I use the protec ride plate and I agree with Bull it's the best for top speed. Also because it raises the front of the ski it might help in reducing the infamous raider 90 degree turn at top speed.

    You can also cut the stock plate flush with the back of the hull. I have heard it is possible to cut the front of the stock plate and move it forward and still keep the speedo.

    I have an old riva groovy plate that I'm going to cut to the same shape as the protec just to see what happens.

  7. #7
    oldmanraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    298
    Here's a link with more info on cutting the stock plate

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=10868

  8. #8
    Old School Never Dies! codemanrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    819
    Thanks!

  9. #9
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    But you may want to try cutting the fron set of holes off. I used it like that and i could see like a 15mph gain!





































    On the dreamo meter!

  10. #10
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    Damn dude, 63.1!?!?!?

    I'm sorry, but what else did you do. I have a bunch of stuff and I just touched 62 in 50* salt water. How long are the runs, and how do you like that prop?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-15-2016, 09:41 PM
  2. will ride plate help power on take off and planing out?
    By Firewalker918 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2012, 09:12 AM
  3. ride plates , intake grates ??? really work
    By Bone1050 in forum Polaris PWC Performance
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-21-2006, 10:27 AM
  4. Will my 05' 1300 Riva ride plate fit an 03' 1300?
    By O-ToWn1300R in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2006, 08:59 AM
  5. tested ride plate and jet works today
    By txgp1300r in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 03-21-2006, 08:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •