Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

05 block and crank in 06 rxp

I am new to this so not exactly sure what to do. I am rebuilding a 06 RXP engine that had a rod go through the side of the block. I found a used 05 short block thinking they were the same but now I understand that the cam sensors are in a different location. I tried to start it today and kept getting P0344 - Cam phase sensor signal missing. This is where I found out the sensors are in different places. PLEASE HELP, not sure what do to next. THANK YOU

+1
    CPS= crank position sensor

The location of the flywheel locating pin changed in 06 (helps if both have #3 at tdc), u need to go back into the pto and remove the flywheel and the stamped steel triggerwheel behind it. Look at the 05 crank and where the pin is and compare it to the 06, u will need to drill a new hole in the trigger wheel to "re-clock" it and provided the sensor is good, should fire right up. If the sensor is good u should have a bad mis-fire when cranking.......

I tryed cranking on it today. It backfired really loud and then I quit. Is there any chance I could put the 05 pto cover on? Would that fix my problem without having to pull the motor again? Thank you so much, this forum really has helped alot

+1
    Changing pto will not help, it's the crank that has it out of time for u.......a simple 1/4 hole in the right place on the trigger wheel and u will be riding. Seadoo could have just changed the hole in the trigger wheel but NOOOO.....they took the "let's screw everyone with this change" approach.....

I will get a pic of a wheel I drilled to use 06 motor in 05 ski, u will be doing the opposite.