Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

New to skis - VXR or FX HO or FX SHO

Hi
    I am new to skis, and new to this forum. I have read a number of posts similar to mine, but still have some questions so I thought I would post it (sorry if I am repeating a previously asked question).

I have rode dirt bikes for many years and after have a 4 year break from bikes I am making the switch to PWC's (rather then back to bikes). I live in Australia so will be riding mainly on the ocean and surf, but also on rivers (less frequently). I am after a fair bit of power to keep me entertained, but am not a high horse power junky always looking for more and more power - as long as its quick and got good pull them Im happy.

I was originally set on the 2011 VXR due to its lighter construction and better MPG usage (i dont need a supercharged engine if a NA engine gives plenty of power), and it seems to have a great power to weight ratio. However if I am riding a lot in the surf, will the lack of trim be a negative? I will also ride with my GF on the back at times, will the smaller hull (and no trim) be less comfortable when she is on the back?

For this reason I am also considering the 2011 FX HO and 2011 FX SHO. Not sure if the SHO is necessary for the extra cost, but given the extra weight compared to the VXR, I think i may need a supercharger to compensate? And will the ride be that much smoother in rougher conditions due to the trim and larger hull?

I will also be wake boarding and pulling a biscuit when im on the river (or ocean is flat). Im not sure how this impacts the perfromance of either skis, or which is better for wake boarding re stability and power output etc.

Thanks for your advice.

Yes if it gets choppy riding a vxr sucks. Your body takes a pounding and its jumpy.
    vxr owner

Quote Originally Posted by B-Lo View Post
    Yes if it gets choppy riding a vxr sucks. Your body takes a pounding and its jumpy.
    vxr owner