+1

2001 gp 800r help

whats up guys great site you have here this is my first post .

i recently bought a 2001 yamaha gp 800r of i guy i know thru a friend. It had 50 hrs on it when i bought it (now 60) the ski is in perfect condition not aa scratch on it.. the first few times i took it out ran great.. then the 2 days ago i took it out and it was running alittle slow..

i was only able to get up to about 6500 rpm and about 53mph.when i first rode it i was over 7000rpm and got up to 60mph...i rode for a while like that it started getting worse and i was struggling to get it to 50mph i started to come back in the bam the thing took off and was back to normal im like damn maybe it was something to do with the power valves.

so im pretty new to 2 stroke motors so i started reading i checked all the power valve threads checked a few things out and they seemed to be fine..this was all done on the trailer of course .so i decided to check the compression front cylinder was 125 back was 120 not to bad right? but then i look at the plugs and noticed the front one looked good but the back was dry dark grey and there was almost no gap in the plug like it detonated or something.. i called the local yamaha mechanic and he said. i must have detonated and the grey on the plug is the melted piston... whats crazy to me is how it just started running good on its own at the end of the ride and the compression is still ok.. here are the pics of the plugs any thoughts???
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	plug 2.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	36.5 KB 
ID:	252373   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	plug.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	29.6 KB 
ID:	252374  

+1
    also they are the correct plugs for the ski

+1