Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

95 Polaris SLT 750 under performing

Looking for some guidance. This is my first post, hopefully I am in the right spot. I have been using the site for about three months now. Here is my issue.

I have a 95 slt 750 that will only do about 5600 rpm and about 39-40 mph. Every once in a while it goes up to 6200 rpm, and its correct top speed of 45, but only for 10 seconds or so at a time, and this only happens a couple times in an hour of riding. I have read almost every post on the hulk about slt and sl 750's, and whenever I find someone with similar problems, they string me along with info, and then never post the final results of how they fixed their problem. The threads just dead end.

History. Bought ski in June. Did compression test before I paid. All cylinders at 120. Maiden voyage starts rough, slow to get going then goes 45 for about 20 minutes and then drops down to 20mph for ride back to dock. Change spark plugs. Next day takes off like a champ all day. Three rides later it goes back to 20mph and 3500-4000 rpm. Change plugs again, no dice. Carb cleaner. Doesn't help. Mess with carbs a little, check the cooling water, charge battery, air inlet valve on gas tank, check fuel lines, fuel filters, install three outlet fuel pump and install different carb rack from a good running machine. Clipped spark plug wires and re-thread on the wire heads. New thru-hull drive shaft seal, grease everything. All of this was done with help of the hulk posts. Again, every post ends without a final result.

Currently-machine accelerates nicely. Idles nicely. Starts great. Compression is good. No vibrations or weird noises. Doesn't over heat. Only thing is it seems to be a little on the smoky side, but plugs look pretty good when I take them out to check them.