Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

1994 Polars 750 SLT Rebuild Project - Piston Wash

Top left is MAG, top right is CEN, bottom left is PTO. Running 32:1. Plugs were wet, but idled back to dock, did not do WOT plug chop. Top numbers were 46.8 MPH @ 6180 RPM. Having hesitation issues out of the hole, but plan on doing a carb rebuild over the winter. Fuel system fully updated. MAG and PTO Pistons were new. CEN was in the machine when I got it, and was already dark from previous owner with no signs of wash.......

Input please!!!!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	94 Polars 750 Mag Piston Wash.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	139.5 KB 
ID:	252951Click image for larger version. 

Name:	94 Polaris 750 CEN Piston Wash.jpg 
Views:	212 
Size:	148.9 KB 
ID:	252953Click image for larger version. 

Name:	94 Polaris 750 PTO Piston Wash.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	134.6 KB 
ID:	252952

I'm addicted to Polaris PWC ghostinstallations's Avatar
    +1
    Im not a pro, but all are lean. Mag has some wash starting, maybe turn it up an 1/8, other two need at least an 1/8 turn, maybe closer to 1/4.

+1
    Mag = a little lean. Give it an extra 1/8

Cen = Extremely lean. Give it an extra 3/8

PTO = Very Lean. Give it an extra 1/4

KJ

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by johnsonmtz View Post
    Mag = a little lean. Give it an extra 1/8

Cen = Extremely lean. Give it an extra 3/8

PTO = Very Lean. Give it an extra 1/4

KJ
    If the CEN piston was already dark, will a new wash pattern "clean" the old carbon build up off??? IF not, how can I tell what the real wash is - even if I get it dialed in and the old color stays, how will I know?

Also applies to the other two with the new settings - will a new wash appear? Do i need to somehow "clean" the piston domes?

Thanks for all the input!

+1
    Yes, over time a wash patter will develop. There is no need to chemically or mechanically clean the tops of the pistons.