Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2001 TXI good, bad or evil

Hi, im am new to the site and looking at buying a 2001 TXI, is ther anything i need to look out for and how are these machines, i am new to the water sports stuff but have no problem with maintaining or working on stuff. This will be mainly for the family to have a good time on with an ocasiional scream across the lake on and pulling a tube once in awhile. Any help or ideas would be great and thanks!!!!

Biggest problem with the injected machines is the EMM (computer) overheating and going bad. It's a good idea to check the flow of the cooling lines going to it, and replace them to ensure good flow. When it does fail, there's only one company that repairs them and it's a $550 fix.

Check for a "check engine" message on the screen when you are test riding it.

Other than that, and as long as compression is good, there's not much else you can check for.

How much are they asking for the ski?

I have 2 of them. When they run, they are fast and handle good. My son loves them. But, they can be a pain to diagnose when things arent working right. Both of mine run, but one just doesnt seem to want to come up to full rpm. Almost like its choking out. Took it to a shop that said they had experience with them and the equipment to read the computer. Its been close to 3 months now and all I ever get is one story after another about why they havent looked at it. The only reason I havent yanked it out of the shop yet is because I am short storage space and dont have room to jockey skis around right now.

They rely too much on the digital wrench software instread of knowing how the system actually works. You can make a simple LED tool to read the codes from the EMM. As for your ski not getting up to speed, most likely its low compression it could be the TPS. As for the shop, you dont need them lol We have enough people on here that can diagnose the issue for free most likely.

Banned User
    +1