Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

97 gp 1200 jetting help

Hey everyone. I've been browsing this forum for a few months now without becoming a member. So far I've been able to find everything I need without asking any questions. I'm kindof lost at this point and could use some advice. I have the 65u motor and power plenum flame arrestor, tdr water box baffled. I am having trouble tuning the ski, seems to bog at wot after a few mins of use. I used to just restore the mixture screws to factory settings and it worked great but now that I have the tdr water box I am not able to tune it no matter how hard I try. Part of the problem is I cannot find mixture screws anywhere for this motor with the t handles. Also I am wondering if I maybe have to get new jets because of the flame arrestors and because of the new water box. Any help would be appreciated, just trying to find the right combination of settings so I can enjoy myself like when I had a completely stock ski.

+1
    Read this thread on "How to make your own T-handles"

Here's the specs I use:
    135 mains. 100 pilots. 1.5 N/S and 115 gram spring.
    Highs out 1 1/2 turns. Low out 1 1/4 turns.

I have a 65U with 84.5mm Pro X pistons and Riva Flame Arrestors

Thanks I am going to look into that t handle trick. I am thinking about the return line mod do you know if that's necessary to balance the fuel pressure after doing the jets? Also is there any reason why I shouldn't buy some higher psi heads before I do the jetting? I still want to run 91 octane though.

+1
    I like the idea of the return line fuel pressure balance mod and in fact I did that to mine.
    A higher compression head won't require you to rejet from the above specs. You might have to crank the high and low speed adjusters a bit, but the same jetting should work fine.

+1
    The 115 gram spring is the gold one if you didn't know.

+1
    Used to be gold. Now its "Platinum"....not sure how to tell the difference between silver and "Platinum"

+1