Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question New prop = excessive reduction in RPM (and performance)??

Thanks to troy, for pointing me in the right direction... Anyway here goes...

I have an '08 RXT-X running a stock engine, when I first got the ski I saw RPMs as high as 8200, and performance was very impressive. After sucking a rock up and replacing the wear ring, and prop with a Solas item (either a 15-20R or a 15-22R I think) revs have dropped to an unreasonable 7200-7400 at WOT. I was told the prop would reduce revs but I think thats a little excessive, the performance and throttle response just seems to have gone!! All this running on 99 octane fuel in the UK... I'm not that experienced on these things, however that really doesn't sound like a healthy ski to me.
    Any help or suggestions, on what to look for perhaps, would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Tim

+1
    The prop isn't your issue. Not nearly 1k worth of loss IMO!

+1
    Ok. Rpm's @ 8200 is hitting rev limiter. Once we get you squared away on getting the rpms back up you want to be around 8100. 15/22 is to much for a stock ski with no mods, but I dont think you should have dropped to 7200-7400.
    If the prop is a 15/20 then it could be a boost leak. have you had any of the SC ot IC hoses off?
    Try and find out for sure what prop you have.

I've done some research on it and I have come to the same conclusion, I did come unhooked once and on "re-entry" heard a nasty high pitch whine come from what I think can only be the SC. However, having only done this once, I can't see it doing THAT much damage to the clutch? Without driving the 500 mile round trip to see James at 158 performance over here and asking him to have a look at it, I'm at a loss.. And ofc the fact that over here the cost of stuff is the same in £ as it is for you guys in $ the prop set me back the equivalent to $530 just a couple months ago

Thanks again

Tim