SLT 780 top speed problem

Can anyone tell me why my 97 polaris SLT 780 suddenly rockets from 38 mph at full throttle to top speed (55/58 mph) and full rpm after hitting a few well timed waves. This seems to be the only way to achieve top performance / speed. Once I get it to top rpm / speed I can stay there indefinitely. However, 40 mph is as fast as I can get it to go once I back off the throttle until I hit a few good waves again. This type of behavior doesn't seem to be remedied or consistant with simple carb adjustments (but maybe I'm wrong). I did a cold compression check (all in the low 120's) . This ski runs smooth low to midrange and idles well. Might not pull out of the water as fast as I'd like it to, but maybe that is also part and partial to its "top speed challenge". I'm not sure as I'm new to this ski. This ski is completely stock and all original including fuel lines. I have noticed that the fuel/water separator never completely fills. (is this normal?) Also, this ski seems to use a lot of fuel. Any suggestions are really appreciated. - Bobby

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Cleveland OH
    Welcome to the Hulk Bobby.

It sounds as if you're not running on all 3 cyls all the time.

1. the water seperator should be full of fuel. (the orange ring isn't floating is it?)

2. Those skis really are fuel economical

First, try removing the spark plug boots, cutting about 1/4" of wire off to expose fresh wire. Then rescrew the boots back on and zip tie them in place. (sometimes the connection gets bad and you lose spark)

Read up on "piston wash" and compare yours to a good wash pattern.

Lastly, I had a similar situation with the high speed coming on after hitting waves, and that turned out to be my elec stator/magneto. So make sure all your electrical connections are good, clean, and tight. Especially the ground wire connections.