Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question on power lose, NEW Speedster 150 255

Hi, thanks for your time.
    Im new to all this, I own a 255hp speedster 150, its new with 20 hours. I'm having a problem hope you can help me. the dealer sucks big time…

Ok, this is whats happening, after a few minutes of cruising or skiing at relative low speed (up to 30mph) when I try to accelerate the boat looses power, then it comes in like in pulsations, so it pulls and drops like wo wo woo wooo wooo till it picks up speed, once it gets up to speed it seems normal, if I run at high speed for a few seconds then I can slow down and accelerate hard again like nothing ever happened, and if Im running it hard all day it acts normal and pulls well.

but as soon as I start cruising or going slow for a minute or so, then it has trouble accelerating again, to me it feels like it slipping, but the dealer tells me it cant be the supercharger because then it wouldn't pick up speed again, they tell me that if the sc is gone power doesn't pick up again and it doesn't act like that, and that it must be the gas pump or something like that. so can the supercharger slip like that? could it be that at the 10 hour service they used the wrong oil and the cluth is slipping like on a motorcycle?

to be honest I really don't feel its the gas pump, but I have no experience, I really hope someone can help me.. is this something familiar to this boats? has anybody heard of something like this? the dealer told me they have never heard of something similar, their clueless and they haven't had the time to come over and check it… HELP PLEASE! thanks again!!

Maybe one partially fouled plug or failing coil pack? Check your plugs; it likely not the problem but it's easy and it may reveal something related.. Just so we don't miss something simple; look up damaged impeller and cavitation... if you are unfamiliar with this effect. Maybe a sensor issue?

Good luck and please remember to post your final fix for others.