Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

TURBO or BIG SC on open sea?

I already check up all the Threads about TURBO and i didn’t found an answer.
    As the majority on here I want MORE, so I already had an ET-68-140 on my PWC, now im waiting the RXPX 2012 to play with….
    Now the question?, I’m planning to use it open sea and sometimes wave jumping, but mostly will use it on circuit (always choppy)…ive read on here that a Rude 3 and open sea are not a good idea.
    So which would be the gains on using a TURBO. About the internals I will only upgrade the valve spring and retainers as a result of a reflash on the ECU and im planning having 16-18 psi MAX because I don’t wanna change the intake and use other type of gas.
    i already learn all about tunning and AFR´s with the Rude controller...., so right now im in between a ET 68-140 and a Turbo setup...
    So what are the pros an cons..?

+1
    Well, im no expert and im sure some guys who are will chime in. But i would personally go turbo because if you're riding open sea coming unhooked all the time thats putting constant wear on you SC clutch, with a turbo there is no clutch so when you come unhooked it'll just free spool down until you are back on the gas. So in other words there is no constant engaging and un-engaging as you bounce out of the water.

just my .02

+1
    Go turbo in my opinion. The constant hooking and unhooking in chop or surf is a supercharger killer. They don't like it. Add to the fact that larger wheels are gonna wear the clutches faster and you can see why my choice would be turbo.

What about the power at the same psi, the SC needs to be moved by the engine and the Turbo needs the exhaust air that also consume the power of the motor, but who spend more....
    Im running a TDR water box (amazing sound)..., and i would not use it if decided to go turbo (so how it sounds with a turbo)? louder?
    many thanks for all the answers...

+1