Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Every adventure comes to an end........ Not Today! wreckingball's Avatar
    +1

Yamaha Wear Ring discussion

I'm pretty anal about how good I clean my ski after every ride. My ski only has 76 hours on it and always on a trailer and never left overnight. So here's my most recent discovery when I went to replacer prop. I found a bump in my wear ring that was hitting my stock prop. I had a .035" gap between the prop and wear ring.... Mo wonder it feels like I've been going slower!

So I cut out the ring to get a better view:

now you know why it swelled
    has this seen alot of saltwater?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 96Waveventure700 View Post
    now you know why it swelled
    has this seen alot of saltwater?
    I know exactly why it happened. Yes, it is in salt water 97 percent of it's life. I am a professional yacht mechanic (recently became an equipment mechanic - tired of crawling in bilges & hydraulics is my professional trade!). Hence my anal-ness to clean everything so thoroughly after every ride. Salt water was a factor. The other factor is that Yamaha put a stainless ring into an aluminum housing. Two non-like metals that really don't get along in the salt environment. There had to be some spot that allowed just a little bit of salt water to get between the ring and housing causing the oxidization to get worse between the two until one part pushed the ring into my prop. Once there was even the smallest hole, it just got worse like uncontrolled cancer!

+1
    I think your wear ring was putting out 1.3 volts DC..

+1