Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    SCSFAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ANKENY ,IA
    Posts
    112
    +1
    2

    Riva SCOM draining battery....

    Went to winterize my 300 the other day and found that it had a dead battery. It dawned on me that the only power drain could be my Riva SCOM, as it's directly hooked to the battery. Two questions for the board.....Has any one hooked it up to a ignition only hot wire instead of directly to the battery? The other question is since its constantly feeding power to the ECU will there be any long term issues with the reliability of the ECU? Looking for input.......Steve


  2. #2
    Take the time to smile sirbreaksalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    4,157
    +1
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by SCSFAB View Post
    Went to winterize my 300 the other day and found that it had a dead battery. It dawned on me that the only power drain could be my Riva SCOM, as it's directly hooked to the battery. Two questions for the board.....Has any one hooked it up to a ignition only hot wire instead of directly to the battery? The other question is since its constantly feeding power to the ECU will there be any long term issues with the reliability of the ECU? Looking for input.......Steve
    I have my module being powered of the ignition source from the fuel pump relay, I have a picture of the colours.
    Easy enough to figure out with a test light.

    Waz

  3. #3
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    i have heard of more than a few having this problem lately something that obviously wasnt thought of but i do believe one aussie product to have very minimal current drain, and the other one thanks to waz we wont suffer these problems

  4. #4
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    244
    Damn waz you should pm me that picture so I can connect my aem wideband that way instead of a switch

  5. #5
    Moderator #985 lasportsmn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pierre Part, Louisiana
    Posts
    4,780
    +1
    358
    I never noticed this since I always plug in the ski to the maintenance charger when I go to sea. I will definately change the power source for mine.

  6. #6
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    I run a small solar panel on the hood to keep my battery charged and makes the sc make more boost to

  7. #7
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Posts
    3,048
    +1
    336
    dammn i knew you had more boost

  8. #8
    Javier's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
    Posts
    57
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    I have my module being powered of the ignition source from the fuel pump relay, I have a picture of the colours.
    Easy enough to figure out with a test light.

    Can i see the pic on how to change the power source from the SCOM ? i really cant afford no dead batteries... would like to set it up on to the fuel pump like you did please and thanks
    Waz

  9. #9
    Take the time to smile sirbreaksalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    4,157
    +1
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    I have my module being powered of the ignition source from the fuel pump relay, I have a picture of the colours.
    Easy enough to figure out with a test light.

    Waz
    I have taken 2 pic's to show which connectors I picked up my switched +12v and grounds from

    remove inspection cover
    remove ECU mount , they just pull out of the white plastic liner

    I used the BLACK connector for the ground ........ the big thick BLACK wire next to he blue as you can see

    grey connector for the 12 ignition switch power ...... RED/WHITE strip on the outter edge of the plug.

    the following pictures will help clarify plug & wire position

    if you are changing from a battery supply style you can leave the ground at battery if you like, as you only need to move the 12v positive to the new location if you are worried about drain .

    Hope it helps



    Waz
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	earth.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	88.6 KB 
ID:	256593   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12v hot.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	256592  

  10. #10
    Olomana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tahiti, French Polynesia
    Posts
    1,414
    +1
    76
    Cool! I was wondering which wire was the ignition one for my future boost gauge :O

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2006 F-12 draining battery voltage
    By cayman007 in forum Honda Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 09:01 AM
  2. hondas draining batteries
    By dewberryone in forum Honda Open Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 11:23 AM
  3. VTS draining battery after fuse blown..
    By steelers87 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-23-2009, 08:10 AM
  4. 1997 GP1200 drains battery quickly - need help
    By K6Jet in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 02:30 AM
  5. drained battery
    By buddydoo in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 05:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •