Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

2001 XP 951cc falling flat on its face after rework...

I'm new to PWCs, and recently purchase a set of 2001 Seadoos... I knew both needed work, but turned out more than expected... Here's what I did on the XP so far:

• Replaced all grey fuel lines with proper 1/4" and 5/16" fuel lines, making sure to match up and cut each line sequentially. All clamps replaced with stainless steel. No zip ties. Replaced "T" lines as well on backside of cabs for fuel pump.
    • Cleaned fuel petcock thoroughly
    • Cleaned RAVE valves. (totally covered in black carbon buildup) Dialed the red part almost all the way in, as others had suggested. (brought the water box valve flush to top to balance, also as suggested) Made sure they are installed to original cylinder, and right side up
    • Full carb teardown/rebuild with brand new gasket kits, making sure to re-use the stock springs to retain pop off pressure
    • Cleaned fuel pump - gaskets looked okay
    • Cleaned reed valves. No chips/cracks visible. Seated properly against housing.
    • Converted to premix with block off
    It idles a little rough on trailer and in the water, but sounds like a 2 stroke with a little "popping" here and there.... Literally jumps out of the water when you gas it... (I was shocked - I'm new to PWCs) but then falls flat on it's face within 2-3 seconds, as though its starved for fuel. I say starved because if I pump/feather the throttle, it keeps going, but difficult to keep up. (almost like the fuel pump off the PTO is spitting enough fuel in to keep running) Anything above 1/3 throttle, and it just dies.

Low speed screw dialed out about 1.5 turns. High Speed screw set to 0, as Seadoo manual indicates. I opened high speed screw out 1/4, and it seemed worse.