+1

2001 GTi bogging @ 20-30% throttle

(First off, sorry for a long post, but want to be descriptive)

I'm new to PWCs, and recently purchase a set of 2001 Seadoos... I knew both needed work, but turned out more than expected... Here's what I did on the GTi at first:

• Replaced all grey fuel lines with proper black fuel lines, making sure to match up and cut each line sequentially. All clamps replaced with stainless steel. No zip ties.
    • Cleaned fuel petcock thoroughly
    • Full carb teardown/rebuild with brand new gasket kits, making sure to re-use the stock spring to retain pop off pressure. Low speed set to 1 1/4+/-. High speed set to 0, as manual instructs.
    • Cleaned fuel pump - gaskets looked okay
    • New plugs
    Still didn't run right, and would bog down @ 20-30% throttle, but ran 35-40 mph with 2 of us on it... lackluster throttle response above 60%. Was only getting 90PSI compression on both jugs, so decided to pull the heads off, thinking maybe rings were stuck. Oh. My. God. This is what I saw:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	720-cylinders.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	131.5 KB 
ID:	256774Click image for larger version. 

Name:	720-piston-head.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	145.9 KB 
ID:	256775

All I can tell is that whoever did the recent rebuild, they (moronically) put the pistons in backwards, placing the arrows facing AWAY from the exhaust, thus allowing the piston ring gaps to catch on the exhaust port, snapping the rings (and part of the head of the piston) off and smashing against the head. Being as there were no pieces left in the cylinder or crankcase, I can only assume previous owner knew of this, and cleaned/flushed it out, then got running again and sold to me.