Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Can't figure this out -

Can anyone tell me why my 97 polaris SLT 780 suddenly rockets from 38 mph at full throttle to top speed (55/58 mph) and full rpm after hitting a few well timed waves or a hard right turn. This seems to be the only way to achieve top performance / speed. Once I get it to top rpm / speed I can keep it there indefinitely. However, 40 mph is as fast as I can get it to go once I back off the throttle until I hit a few good waves again or a hard right turn. This type of behavior doesn't seem to be remedied or consistent with simple carb adjustments (but maybe I'm wrong). I did a cold compression check (all in the low 120's) . This ski runs smooth low to midrange and idles well. Might not pull out of the water as fast as I'd like it to, but maybe that is also part and partial to its "top speed challenge". I'm not sure as I'm new to this ski. I have noticed thatthe fuel/water separator drops to half full when running mid throttle. (is this normal?) Also, this ski seems to use a lot of fuel. Any suggestions are really appreciated.

Having said all that, this is what I have done so far to try to remedy the problem:
    • Rebuilt carbs to spec (including checking pop off),
    • Installed new fuel lines
    • Ran a compression check - is good on all three cylinders -120’s cold
    • Rebuilt fuel pump
    • Checked ventilation check valves,
    • New plug wires.