Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

+1

Exclamation SHO/FZR/FZS Blown up Engines!

I seem to see a pattern developing. More and more motors with broken engine internal parts. I think the reason most of these motors fail is that the oem pistons and or connecting rods are breaking apart from more boost pressure than these cast pistons and or connecting rods can take over time. Now I see 24 psi SC wheels coming out ( wow). I have been keeping track of engine problems on these skis for two years now and it seems to me ( my opinion only and not guaranteed to be safe) that 12-14 psi boost and 8400-8500 rpms is the max. oem internal pistons and rods can take for any extended period of time. If any of you deside to go beyond these limits I suggest you go with good after market rods, pistons , valve springs and other associated parts as required. I just hate to see or here of more broken engines showing up when these problems can be avoided if some good guide lines on what is required for more boost and rpms was followed. Even then there is no guarantee you won't suffer a major engine failer but at least the odds are in your favor if good aftermarket parts are used. Tommy Jordan
    Last edited by 2fast4u; 11-18-2011 at 09:01 PM.

+1
    I agree Tommy. I think your range of safe boost and RPM for stock internals/valve train is SPOT ON. I had thoughts of going 1.9 liter this winter but until there are reflashes available to support that level of modification I'm not too crazy about it. Think I'll try and get one more season out of my stock motor before cracking the engine open. Going to do custom cams + custom reflash + an R&D/Skat pump and shoot for 84-85 with my little ole C3 wheel.

If I hit 250 hrs on my stock motor SHO this coming season I think that will be a true testament to the readability of mid level of boost and the reflashes. So glad I made the decision to purchase my SHO back in 08. Have never regretted it for one minute.

+1