Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

any suggestions on making my rxp stronger?

Hello, i'm an amateur rider and new to jetskiing, i bought a used 04 rxp about a year ago and had non-stop problems. My valve dropped recently and since the motor has been taken out, im looking to replace parts to make it stronger and try to protect the ski from further problems. OEM steel washers have already been installed. the 06+ flywheel bolts have been ordered, and i'm now unsure whether to get OEM/Riva/ferrea valve sets, and whether it should be standard or oversized?

Any opinions on experiences with these valves and any other suggestions to bulletproof the ski would be really appreciated

+1
    I'd go with standard size gen 2 Ferrea valves. Riva and Ferrea are the same thing. If you go with the oversize valves, I believe the valve relief in the piston has to be cut.

The 04/05 valves have been known to drop into the engine if the engine has been neglected. Regular fogging will avoid this. (and the valves 04/05 will last just as long)

If you put in Ferrea valves that will fix the problem, but you need to fog the engine after you ride it to protect the valves from rusting. There are many articles about this.

If you have dropped a valve, you have damaged the bore and you will need to get it checked. I had mine honed at an engine shop (after I bought a ski with a dropped valve) and found that the hone did not touch some of the surface of the cylinder. Check this, if its ok you will save on pistons.
    It starts to get expensive as once you open the engine, you will change the rings, valves, bearings, mod for the oil jet, oil valve mod for the supercharger etc etc.

Have a look what I did here:-

http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=161992

Good luck.