Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need HELP to decide which ski

I am looking to buy a new 3 seater. My wife and I have been riding SEA-DOO's since 1992. Currently have 2 HX's. Looking for a fast and reliable ski that is not supercharged. I read all the posts on this great forum regarding Yamaha VXR and wondering if there are any updated reviews on the 2011 Yamaha VXR's and the 2011 SEA-DOO GTI SE 155? I like SEA-DOO yet I think i would get bored with the motor. Thought about the GTR but the SC long term reliability concerns me.

Will be riding in the bay and ocean.

Any help would be great.

Thanks,

Rick

Autism Speaks. Its Time To Listen gOt BoOsT's Avatar
    +1
    you shouldnt overlook the sea doo s/c models...you wont get tired of it and theyre reliable as long as you treat it well.

Honestly after taking my trainings on all the new sea doo models I really like the GTR. It is a Gti hull with a 215 engine in it. The 2011 gti's were an extremely fun ski in a 155, imagine with a 215!!! There superchargers aren't bad, usually the people who Have problems are the ones who get signs of the supercharger failing and ignore it. Every 100hrs they need rebuild. I would deff look into a supercharged model like the GTR, u won't be disappointed!!

i do like the gtr..one question...when a supercharger goes..does it just lose power or are you dead in the water..?

+1
    When the s/c goes u are done period. and might have a new motor alone with it just all depends

i was afraid of that...if one wants a fairly bulletproof pwc with some speed...it looks like you have to buy a VXR or a FX HO...why doesn't sea doo step it up with a N/A engine?

Because they have had succes with there supercharged models. The gti 155 is still a good ski!!! They do about 60mph which is pretty respectable for an n/a ski!!

+1
    If your looking for a fast 3 seater it need to be a 215 HP.
    I would not be worried about the reliability of the new 215 skis.

Quote Originally Posted by rickyd View Post