Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Yamaha VX fuel experiment on top speed

Hello everyone,

When I was a year 10 student (last year) I had to do a Science Research Project (SRP) so instead of doing something boring like how fast beans grow in different light conditions (my friend did that), I decided to see what fuel would make the Jetski go the fastest. Here is what happened:

First I drained the tank of all fuel and then filled the tank with 5 litres of fuel. Then I did 6 full throttle runs on the same stretch of river (3 up and 3 down) and recorded the speeds with a GPS then wrote the speeds down and did again.

On 98 RON my average speed of 6 runs was 87.3 kph
    On E10 (93-94 RON) my average speed of 6 runs was 88.2 kph
    On regular unleaded (recommended fuel) (91 RON) my average speed of 6 runs was 87.7 kph

Fastest speed on the day was 89.1 kph on E10

It was a fun experiment and just thought I'd like to share the results with all of you.

+1
    totally agree ,my ski fzs is quicker on E10..

+1
    Cool assignment. what was the standard deviation?

Quote Originally Posted by JordieS View Post
    Hello everyone,

When I was a year 10 student (last year) I had to do a Science Research Project (SRP) so instead of doing something boring like how fast beans grow in different light conditions (my friend did that), I decided to see what fuel would make the Jetski go the fastest. Here is what happened:

First I drained the tank of all fuel and then filled the tank with 5 litres of fuel. Then I did 6 full throttle runs on the same stretch of river (3 up and 3 down) and recorded the speeds with a GPS then wrote the speeds down and did again.

On 98 RON my average speed of 6 runs was 87.3 kph
    On E10 (93-94 RON) my average speed of 6 runs was 88.2 kph
    On regular unleaded (recommended fuel) (91 RON) my average speed of 6 runs was 87.7 kph

Fastest speed on the day was 89.1 kph on E10