Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: PFD

+1

Question PFD

So I have been doing some pre-season prep...on my "to-buy" list is a new life jacket.

I looked at the Kawi OEM vests along with a couple other brands. Just not sure what to look for?

I had a cheap Obrien vest last year (first year riding) and def want to get something better.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by pgh300x View Post
    So I have been doing some pre-season prep...on my "to-buy" list is a new life jacket.

I looked at the Kawi OEM vests along with a couple other brands. Just not sure what to look for?

I had a cheap Obrien vest last year (first year riding) and def want to get something better.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
    http://www.pwcoffshore.com/Offshore_Gear_Review.html

Banned User
    +1
    Force6.com

+1
    Well, I'm no expert, but both of the links above show zippered PFDs with 1 or 2 buckles. I did a face plant years ago while wearing a zippered PFD an it completely unzipped and came off. No more zippered PFDs for me! 4 buckles, baby!

Banned User
    +1
    Cheap vest will come apart.like the one you where wearing many are only rated for very low speeds. marks vest is Made for offshore power boat racers the force6 is for SAR both are way over Rated for what we do and will not come apart. Do your research before you comment. FYI my force 6has 3 buckles plus zippers. It ain't coming apart.

AWA MEMBER
    +1
    JetPilot

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by FIRE0021 View Post
    . Do your research before you comment. FYI my force 6has 3 buckles plus zippers. It ain't coming apart.
    Well, I looked at the links before I posted. Several PFDs shown only had one buckle, which I have found to be inadequate. Why would I want a swift water rescue PFD for riding? Guess the reflective tape could come in handy, along with the pouch on the front... The LifeLine jacket isn't USCG approved, our lake patrol would give you a ticket for wearing it.