Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2000 RX Problems

Hi all,

Firstly I need to introduce myself as I'm new here although I have been lurking for a few weeks. Name is Pete, I live in Australia after migrating from Northern Ireland a few years ago and have just recently purchased a 2000 RX. I am a mechanic by trade but have not worked in the field for around 13 years apart from working on my own cars and even now all I tend to do is engine management. I have never touched a 2 stroke or a jet ski so excuse me if say some daft things! lol

I have only been out on the Ski a few times since purchase, the first few times it was running good but it took a while to start and didn't like to idle in the water and would regular stall, I thought I would leave it until the end of the summer before having a look at it so I could lots of use out of it. A couple of weeks ago it developed a misfire both at high and low rpm's so I decided to call it a day and get it out of the water, as I was lining up for the trailer it stalled so I tried starting it again with no luck! Got it on the trailer and noticed I had a rope wrapped around the prop shaft! I removed all of the rope and pulled the plugs which were very fouled and when I checked the gap they were nearly twice the recommended gap. Fitted new correctly gapped plugs and fired it up on the trailer. Started and revved good with no miss.