Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Fox picture quality on Dish network

    I have noticed that the picture quality of fox sports is not as good as other networks on my lcd tv. The bar at the top with the score is really fuzzy, not sharp at all. There seems to also be quite a bit of signal compression/pixilization when there is movement. Nascar on fox also has this problem. I've got an HD Dish Network receiver but receiving that channel in SD. My CRT tv has a somewhat better picture but still comparing the picture I get from say CBS and other networks the Fox signal sucks. It appears the signal is being compressed out the wazzoo from fox. Is this something anyone else has noticed or am I alone on this one? much gras in advance.
    Last edited by gigem75; 01-09-2007 at 05:56 PM. Reason: clarity


  2. #2
    Hydrotoys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    16,712
    +1
    85
    Someone had mentioned to me about a problem with HD signal, versus non-HD signal on HD tv's...but I can't remember who or what the problem was.

    Maybe somebody will chip in here with what they found...

    If you think you have a bad picture now, try Cable.

  3. #3
    captain obvious Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Visalia, Ca
    Posts
    2,316
    how are you getting your HD signal?

    OTA is the best way to go (Over The Air) cable and satellite companies compress the $hit out of all their HD programs.

  4. #4

    I'm viewing it in standard def on the sat receiver.

    I'm thinking ota antenna but i'm out in the country and never could get a decent picture ota. i'm thinking about going to radio shack and asking if I buy one and it doesn't work can I bring it back.

  5. #5
    captain obvious Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Visalia, Ca
    Posts
    2,316
    If you have an HD OTA decoder then all you need is an antenna.

    To learn a little more go to http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/Address.aspx

    type in your address and you will find where you need to point the antenna and what type of antenna to purchase.

    To learn more about the subject of receiving OTA HD check out:
    http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/IS...e/antenna.html

  6. #6

    Thanks

    that helped a lot!

  7. #7
    Moderator Snoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South Chicagoland
    Posts
    14,688
    +1
    846
    i have direct tv HD package and all my networks except abc have awsume HD quality..Fox is acually one of the best besides nbc..

    Snoman

  8. #8
    captain obvious Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Visalia, Ca
    Posts
    2,316
    it will also depend on your receiver. I have a tivo HD receiver and it compresses the HD pretty badly compared to the signal going straight into the TV.

  9. #9
    Looking for a job gtxsc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    St. Charles, MO
    Posts
    1,426
    In order to fit all those channels on the satellite in a small amount of transponder space, the regional Fox channels have tons of compression on them. The amount of compression can be adjusted on the uplink end, according to demand and viewership. Call and complain to Dish Network, let them know your dissatisfied and maybe they will get the message and make some changes.
    I had problems when I installed the new TV last year. Even with MPEG compensation on the plasma, it still looks like crap. So I shortened the cable runs, changed out my RG-6 connectors and retuned the dish. Bettter but still not perfect.
    Last edited by gtxsc03; 01-10-2007 at 11:24 AM.

  10. #10
    I see nothing jagnew3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by gigem75 View Post
    that helped a lot!

    Gig I get my locals via OTA...they are great, and my fox picture, both HD and not are far better then The SAT. I do use a signal booster (also Radio Shack) and it really get it done. Football was great on HD.. I can't wait foir racing.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Pictures on Removing 4-tec camshaft in 20 Minutes
    By Shibby1485 in forum Sea Doo How To & FAQs
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-18-2011, 12:39 PM
  2. Need picture of nozzle on stock RXT...
    By GeoRXT in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 05-18-2007, 09:21 AM
  3. Dish Network or DirecTV?
    By Green Hulk in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 09:14 AM
  4. Pictures on Removing 4-tec camshaft in 20 Minutes
    By Shibby1485 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2007, 05:36 PM
  5. pictures needed on R&D/RIVA Power Plenum Flame Arrestor
    By ExciterGPR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 12:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •