Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

southern washington state in pacific northwest

which are first mods for Fzr besides intake?

Hey Hulksters. I'm new to this forum but been riding hard for about 20 years. REALLY appreciated all the FZR knowledge on this forum so I signed up. Just bought a new 09 Fzr yesterday with zero hours so I need to put the gp1300r w/riva 1 out to pasture. Just couldnt pass up a brand new $9000.00 FZR with warranty. I put alot of mods on my other skiis but they were all simple 2 strokes so I'm a total newbie to 4 stroke supercharged technology. Will definitely get the R&d top loader aquavien intake grate before I ride.

My mod questions are this...
    1. got a 4 year warranty so hesitant to do riva stage 1 now but knowing me I probably will eventually cuz it was killer on my gpr.
    What other mods should be done first? ride plate, impeller..??? ( I know that dealers will have a huge problem with ANY mods)

2. which ride plate? (have a shredmaster on my gpr and sxr and like it) the fzr is about 17 inches longer than gpr so I'm assuming the stock plate will "feel" more playful since its shorter than aftermarket plates. I debated going to a skooter that was so much longer but love the look of the FZR and read that it feels lighter than a gpr. (only test drove once for 5 measly minutes years ago)
    Dont want to take ANY chances with bucking so the ride plate has to be full proof (or should I say fool proof? ) I almost didnt buy the FZR when I saw the posts on fzr bucking 2 nights before I picked it up. Your threads were outstanding at explaining that situation.

Thanks again for your yami knowledge. Looking forward to hearing from you Fzr gear heads.

AWA MEMBER
    +1
    R&D intake grate for safety!, you can use any plate you want.....but you should do the intake grate FIRST

+1
    I'd go grate, ribbon removal, air intake, FF exhaust and then go from there...

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk.