Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Wave Venture Oil Consumption

Hey guys I am new to oil injected skis and was wondering if the amount of oil I am going through is normal. I ran a tank of gas last weekend and then checked the oil tanks and it took over 1/2 gal of oil for 12 gal of gas. Not sure if this is right or not since I used to mix my gas when I had a ski when I was younger. If this is normal then I am cool with it but it seems like it is going through a lot of oil and I am not even going WOT.

My next thing is if this is a lot of oil would it be better to just delete the injection system and go mix? I have read a lot of threads basically saying it is basically a peace of mind knowing that your motor has oil all the time. Is there any other benefit beside that? Also would I need to richen up the high/low speed needles a tad? I am already thinking that the low speed needs to be adjusted a little because when I get back on the ski to take off again it seems like it has loaded up from the no wake zone and I have to clear it out before it goes like crazy.

The older Yamahas, including the Wave Venture used "alot" of oil with the factory setup. They did not have a linkage to the throttle to cut it back at low throttle, it was just straight off of engine rpm. I have converted many Raiders and Ventures to premix, and every person was happy to use less oil, foul less plugs, and have reduced smoking. The newer skis have a different system, and for them its is just a piece of mind thing, but on the older ones it is definately a big improvement in overall operation.

Great! I guess I am going to premix then! If it will help reduce oil consumption and make a difference in the performance of it then it will be worth it. I am not worried about mixing gas since it only take a few min to do and I can put the oil in my gas tanks before I go fill up anyways.

Thanks for the responce LT! I am going to do the block off plate this weekend and take it out and see how it does.